Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Mar 4, 2011 in News | 0 comments

ACME: American Contemporary Music Ensemble performs in 21c Liederabend op. 2

April 7, 8 & 9, 2011 at 8pm
The Kitchen| 512 W 19th Street, NYC
Tickets: Single Tickets $15, 2 Nights $25, 3 Nights $35
212.255.5793 ext. 11 or

Co-produced by Beth Morrison Projects, Opera On Tap and VisionIntoArt

ACME:| 21c Liederabend:

New York, NY–ACME (American Contemporary Music Ensemble), led by cellist and artistic director Clarice Jensen, will be the instrumental ensemble for all three 21c Liederabend op. 2 concerts on April 7, 8, and 9, 2011 at The Kitchen(512 W 19th Street, NYC). All concerts begin at 8pm. 21c Liederabend is New York’s largest art song festival, and is co-produced with Beth Morrison Projects, Opera On Tap, and VisionIntoArt. ACME players for these concerts are Courtney Orlando and Laura Lutzke, violins; Caleb Burhans, violin and viola; Clarice Jensen, cello, Logan Coale, bass, Timothy Andres, piano, and Chris Thompson, percussion.

21c Liederabend op.2 is an ambitious multi-media festival of boundary-pushing, post-classical song featuring the brightest rising young stars as well as beloved, well-known composers of New York City’s contemporary music scene. Over three evenings, twenty-one composers, encompassing an explosive array of styles, 21c Liederabend op. 2 will present new work alongside newly commissioned films, video projections, and sculptural lighting design.
This year’s festival presents a dizzying array of composers and styles; highlights include eight world premieres by Daniel Felsenfeld, Peter Golub, David T. Little, Matt Marks, Missy Mazzoli, Paola Prestini, Kamala Sankaram and a commissioned song-cycle by Du Yun.

Other featured composers are Mason Bates, Theo Bleckmann, Douglas J. Cuomo, Daniel Felsenfeld, Ted Hearne, Gabriel Kahane, Phil Kline, Milica Paranosic, Russell Platt, Sarah Kirkland Snider, Gregory Spears, Julia Wolfe, Lev Zhurbin and John Zorn.

In addition to ACME, performers include Lisa Bielawa, Theo Bleckmann, Tony Boutte, Lori Cotler, Helga Davis, Corey Dargel, Rinde Eckert, Kate Geissinger, Abigail Fischer, Mellissa Hughes, Gabriel Kahane, Sofia Rei Koutsovitis, John Buffalo Mailer, Melvin Van Peebles, Glen Velez, Shara Worden of My Brightest Diamond, and the Brooklyn Youth Chorus. Conductors include Dianne Berkun, Douglas J. Cuomo, André de Quadros, and Ted Hearne.

The event also features films by Ali Hossaini, Carmen Kordas, Stephen Taylor, and S. Katy Tucker, with photography by Murat Eyubogluh, lighting design by Marcus Doshi and projection design by S. Katy Tucker.

About ACME: ACME is dedicated to the outstanding performance of masterworks from the 20th and 21st centuries, primarily the work of American composers. The ensemble aims to present cutting-edge contemporary literature by living composers alongside the “classics” of the contemporary.  Known for their work with the Wordless Music Series as well as indie music icons such as Grizzly Bear, ACME’s dedication to cutting-edge contemporary literature extends across genres, and has earned them a reputation among both classical and rock crowds. Time Out New York calls them “one of New York’s brightest new music indie-bands.” ACME has performed at (Le) Poisson Rouge, Carnegie Hall, Brooklyn Academy of Music, Tenri Cultural Institute, the Noguchi Museum, the Whitney Museum, the Guggenheim Museum, the Flea Theater, and Columbia University’s Miller Theatre, among others.

ACME’s dedication to presenting new music extends across genres – the ensemble has collaborated with bands and artists including Grizzly Bear (in concert and on their best-selling album, Veckatimest, featuring strings by Nico Muhly); electronica duo Matmos (on The Rose Has Teeth In The Mouth Of A Beast, with strings by Jefferson Friedman); Craig Wedren (former frontman of the avant-rock band Shudder To Think); prepared-pianist Hauschka; composers/performers Jóhann Jóhannsson, Max Richter, and Dustin O’Halloran, and Micachu & The Shapes.
Other recent highlights include ACME’s Carnegie Hall debut performing the world premiere of Timothy Andres’ Senior with the New York Youth Symphony in Stern Auditorium; opening the TriBeCa New Music Festival at the Flea Theater performing works by young American composers Jefferson Friedman, Caleb Burhans, Ryan Streber and Nico Muhly; and a month-long residency at the Whitney Museum presented by the Wordless Music Series, for which ACME tailored a contemporary classical program to complement the indie-rock or electronica performer sharing the concert.

In addition to a January tour with chart-topping pianist Simone Dinnerstein, 2010 concert highlights included a performance of Gorecki’s String Quartet No. 2 opening for Polish electroacoustic musician Jacaszek; a concert of music by John Luther Adams and Kevin Volans; and a performance of the music of Louis Andriessen, all at (Le) Poisson Rouge. In 2011, ACME performs in a concert curated and sponsored by the contemporary classical web community Sequenza21; at The Kitchen during April’s 21c Liederabend produced in collaboration by Beth Morrison Projects, Opera On Tap, and VisionIntoArt; and as part of the MATA Festival in May. For more information, visit
Paola Prestini
Theo Bleckmann
Julia Wolfe
Phil Kline
Matt Marks
Gregory Spears
Russell Platt
Ted Hearne
Gabriel Kahane

Featured Performers
Gabriel Kahane
John Buffalo Mailer
Rinde Eckert
Melvin Van Peebles
Theo Bleckmann
Ted Hearne
Kate Geissinger
Toby Twining
Tony Boutte
Mellissa Hughes
Paola Prestini
Mason Bates
Douglas J. Cuomo
Kamala Sankaram
Missy Mazzoli
Du Yun
Peter Golub
Milica Paranosic

Featured Performers
Brooklyn Youth Chorus
Helga Davis
Charlotte Dobbs
Tony Boutte
Kamala Sankaram
Du Yun
Phil Moffa
Amelia Watkins
Lori Cotler
Glen Velez
Sarah Kirkland Snider
John Zorn
David T. Little
Paola Prestini
Lev Zhurbin
Daniel Felsenfeld

Featured Performers
Sofia Rei Koutsovitis
Shara Worden
Abigail Fischer
Lisa Bielawa
Martha Cluver
Kirsten Sollek
Kathryn Mulvahill
Mellissa Hughes
Corey Dargel

468 ad

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>