Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Feb 14, 2013 in new articles, News | 0 comments

Dallas Opera Announces 2013-14 Season

Dallas Opera Announces 2013-14 Season

(Dallas, TX) – The Dallas Opera is proud to announce a return to four mainstage productions for the company’s bold and dazzling 2013-2014 Season in the Margot and Bill Winspear Opera House at the AT&T Performing Arts Center.

The 57th International Season, “BY LOVE TRANSFORMED” consists of works spanning three centuries-each of which challenged the musical or dramatic conventions of their day.

The new season will commence the evening of Friday, October 25, 2013 at 8:00 p.m. (please note new time for the Linda and Mitch Hart Season Opening Night Performance in conjunction with the Dallas Opera’s FIRST NIGHT) and continue through the final curtain calls on Sunday, April 13, 2014.

The 2013-2014 Season will include two much-loved classics, in addition to the Dallas premiere of an important twentieth-century work for the opera stage.  ThisDallas Opera season will also include the regional premiere-and, worldwide, only the fourth set of performances-of a thought-provoking new twenty-first centuryopera.  Among the upcoming season highlights are two major American debuts; however, every TDO performance will feature internationally renowned singers, conductors, and other artists of the top rank.

Each TDO production will feature the outstanding talents of the Dallas Opera Orchestra and Dallas Opera Chorus, led by some of the finest conductors at work in the world today.

As always, these masterpieces will be performed in their original languages, with English translations projected above the stage at every performance.

The Margot and Bill Winspear Opera house is located in the heart of the Arts District at 2403 Flora St., Dallas TX 75201.

2013-2014 Dallas Opera Season

by Georges Bizet
October 25, 27(m), 30, Nov. 2, 8 & 10(m), 2013

Clémentine Margaine
Brandon Jovanovich
Bruno Ribeiro
Mary Dunleavy
Dwayne Croft

Emmanuel Villaume

Bliss Hebert

Set design
Jean-Pierre Ponnelle

by Tod Machover
February 12, 14, 15 & 16(m), 2014

Robert Orth
Joélle Harvey
Patricia Risley
Hal Cazelet

Nicole Paiement

Diane Paulus

Set design
Alex McDowell

by Erich Wolfgang Korngold March 21, 23(m), 26, 29 and April 6(m), 2014

Jay Hunter Morris
Ann Petersen
Morgan Smith

Sebastian Lang-Lessing

Director and designer
Mikael Melbye

by Gioachino Rossini March 28, 30(m), April 2, 5, 11 & 13(m), 2014

Nathan Gunn
Isabel Leonard
Alek Shrader
Burak Bilgili
Donato DiStefano

Giuliano Carella

Originally directed by
John Copley

Set design
John Conklin

The benefits of becoming a Dallas Opera subscriber include priority seating, lost ticket replacement, invitations to special events and dramatic savings over the price of single tickets.  The company has also added several FREE incentives for loyal season subscribers ranging from comp tickets for upcoming Family Performances to an exclusive patron appreciation “Cabaret Recital” (details to be announced at a later time).

Renewal packets for season subscribers are being mailed to patrons March 10th; however, Dallas Opera Season Subscribers are eligible to renew their seats for the 2013-2014 Season, beginning today, February 12, 2013, and an email with renewal instructions and options will be sent this afternoon.

New Dallas Opera patrons can purchase their subscriptions for the 2013-2014 Season as of June 1, 2013.  Subscriptions for all four productions can be purchased for as little as $76 (with seats up to $960).

Single tickets are expected to go on sale to the general public next August.  All single tickets for individual performances are subject to availability.  Tickets may be purchased at the door – throughout the 2013-2014 Season – or in advance by calling 214.443.1000.  Subscriptions and single tickets will also be available for purchase online throughout the season at

468 ad

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>